[HM 1.11.06b] Database optimisation
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    15

    Default [SOLVED][HM 1.11.06b] Database optimisation

    SOLVED.

    hello, got bug while trying to open database optimisation dialog. Here is how it goes:

    I have database named "hm11105a". HM works great with it:


    opening database manager:


    database control panel:

    Note: when it shows this control panel, hm11105a is not set as DEFAULT DATABASE. I remember in previous versions it was set when this dialog shows up. So I set it as default database. (Nomater how many times I set it to default database and start holdem manager, when I open database manager again, "hm11105a" is not set as default database)

    Click optimize:




    Code:
    [2011.03.13 23:06] Reading databases[2011.03.13 23:06] error: FATAL: 3D000: database "postgres" does not exist[2011.03.13 23:06] error:    at Npgsql.NpgsqlState.
    d__a.MoveNext()
       at Npgsql.NpgsqlState.IterateThroughAllResponses(IEnumerable`1 ienum)
       at Npgsql.NpgsqlConnectedState.Startup(NpgsqlConnector context)
       at Npgsql.NpgsqlConnector.Open()
       at Npgsql.NpgsqlConnectorPool.GetPooledConnector(NpgsqlConnection Connection)
       at Npgsql.NpgsqlConnectorPool.RequestPooledConnectorInternal(NpgsqlConnection Connection)
       at Npgsql.NpgsqlConnectorPool.RequestPooledConnector(NpgsqlConnection Connection)
       at Npgsql.NpgsqlConnectorPool.RequestConnector(NpgsqlConnection Connection)
       at Npgsql.NpgsqlConnection.Open()
       at HoldemManagerDatabaseMaintenance.MainScreen.getAvailableDatabases()
       at HoldemManagerDatabaseMaintenance.MainScreen.loadDBs()[2011.03.13 23:06] Error...please contact support@holdemmanager.com
    </processbackendresponses_ver_3>
    Last edited by chainerlt; 03-14-2011 at 07:15 AM. Reason: solved

  2. #2
    HM Support Patvs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Posts
    33,523

    Default

    Which SQL version are you using?
    Did you install it to a non-default installation folder?

    ---


    Instead of the optimization utility (which will ONLY work with SQL 8.4 installed to the default install folder), try using pgadminIII instead where you can manually vacuum/reindex your database.


    Read:
    http://forums.holdemmanager.com/mana...ease-tips.html
    Participate in the Beta release of the newest Hold'em Manager version: HM Cloud. Sign-up HERE.

    If you would like to leave some feedback to help us improve the quality of the solutions, and/or the support quality you received, - you can do this here

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    15

    Default

    C:\Users\$USERNAME>postgres --version
    postgres (PostgreSQL) 8.4.1

    I installed postgres together with HM 1.11.05a. And installed under the default settings, so it is in the default installation folder, which is:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\PostgreSQL\8.4
    (I'm using win7 64bit)

    Then I was using 1.11.06a HM and some other bugs appeared, mentioned in this thread: http://forums.holdemmanager.com/hud-...start-all.html
    I uninstalled everything with Revo Uninstaller (except postgres ofc) and installed new fresh 1.11.06b. Everything seems to be woking properly except this problem which is mentioned in this thread.

    Quote Originally Posted by Patvs View Post
    Which SQL version are you using?
    Did you install it to a non-default installation folder?

    ---


    Instead of the optimization utility (which will ONLY work with SQL 8.4 installed to the default install folder), try using pgadminIII instead where you can manually vacuum/reindex your database.


    Read:
    http://forums.holdemmanager.com/mana...ease-tips.html

  4. #4
    HM Support netsrak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    25,795

    Default

    Your postgresql installation seems to be screwed somehow.

    Can you connect to your database server via pgadmin with the user postgres?

    Do you have a database named postgres? Don't touch this database as its a system database?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by netsrak View Post
    Your postgresql installation seems to be screwed somehow.

    Can you connect to your database server via pgadmin with the user postgres?

    Do you have a database named postgres? Don't touch this database as its a system database?
    Yes, I see now, I was playing around with these databases when I got problem with 1.11.06a version which was not selecting hands from database. Unfortunately I thought it was something to do with databases so I created some to test different configurations with HM, and after I got working HM I did drop every database (including "postgres" db) except this "hm11105a" which is my current db holding everything. However the previous problem was not related to databases (it was a random bug with filters in the main HM). Nomater what was done, I clearly see I have no db named "postgres". Whats the best solution here? Could I create a new one, or should I export current hm11105a and reinstall postgress, and then import back hm11105a? Any suggestions. Thank you.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    15

    Default

    However, I already solved my problem by making my DB backup via pqAdminIII, reinstaling postgres, then restoring that db. There were some problems with HM detecting new restored db (HM was throwing me some "currency" exceptions or whatever) but I managed to walk around this by reselecting DB owner. So now everything seems to be working. HM is working properly. Database Manager detects db and allows me to optimize it cia HM. Also I could do that via pqAdminIII as you recomended.

    Problem solved, thank you.

    Important Note:
    When I tried to launch HM for the first time after postgres was reinstalled got these problems with "currency" import or whatever, HM said it has to be closed with message like "other users are accessed to the database, please close other programs which are accessed to the db, and relaunch HoldemManager." Then HM did shut down. But not only it's process tree. I noticed that process "HMImport" (ofc I guess it is not the child process of "HoldemManager.exe" but I used description "it's process tree" because from user side, HM left unkilled process) was still alive, so I had to kill it manually. Noticed that after playing around with pqAdminIII, because it throw me error that some other programs are accessed to db (and that was "HMImport" process). So I'm reporting this as possible bug, or leak in HM project. Maybe it's important.


    Quote Originally Posted by chainerlt View Post
    Yes, I see now, I was playing around with these databases when I got problem with 1.11.06a version which was not selecting hands from database. Unfortunately I thought it was something to do with databases so I created some to test different configurations with HM, and after I got working HM I did drop every database (including "postgres" db) except this "hm11105a" which is my current db holding everything. However the previous problem was not related to databases (it was a random bug with filters in the main HM). Nomater what was done, I clearly see I have no db named "postgres". Whats the best solution here? Could I create a new one, or should I export current hm11105a and reinstall postgress, and then import back hm11105a? Any suggestions. Thank you.

  7. #7
    HM Support netsrak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    25,795

    Default

    Thanks for the feedback. We know about the problem with the hmimport process but have no solution so far.

Similar Threads

  1. Importing hands from old database to new database?
    By Gaylord in forum Manager General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-14-2010, 11:05 AM
  2. Restoring to new database kills off old database
    By JtX in forum Manager General
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-05-2010, 08:27 PM
  3. Restoring a Database Using backup and restore Made a different database disappear!
    By onlymymissiscallsmedonkey in forum Manager General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-12-2010, 08:56 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-24-2010, 09:36 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-16-2009, 01:44 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •