Missing note caddy app
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    77

    Default Missing note caddy app

    Since yesterday I get no Note caddy notes in my HUD. I just get a symbol and a text saying "missing NoteCaddy app" where the notes usually are popping up.
    In HM3 I have just two choices under "APPS", to disable NoteCaddy or to enable NoteCaddy. None of them solves the problem. I used to have an alternative to Open Caddy Report under "APPS" but that one is gone.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    245

    Default

    Hello,

    If we click "Enable Notecaddy" and wait a few seconds, when returning to "APPS" you should see an option to "Show Notecaddy". If you only see the option "Disable Notecaddy" try the following:

    - Close HM3 and "Holdem Manager server" icon on bottom of your desktop.
    - Go to C:\Users\YourUserName\AppData\Roaming\Max Value Software\Holdem Manager\3.0\AppsData and move the Notecaddy folder to your desktop as a backup.
    - Restart HM3, allow a couple minutes for NC to reinstall. It should start the wizard after installing NC again.

    Follow the steps to re install Notecaddy and the definitions pack you are currently using. After it finishes reinstalling, restart HM3 for good measure and then check in the replayer if your HUD is working as it should again.

    Let me know if this sorts out this issue for you.

    Best wishes,

    jahrumble

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    77

    Default

    Yeah. I found that information in the forum before your answer and it worked. But the reinstallation of the definition packs messed up some popups in the HUDlayout for me. But small problem compared to missing Note caddy. What I don't understand is why NoteCaddy didn't show any notes when it was enabled. Shouldn't it had done so even if the Show NoteCaddy-button wasn't available?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    245

    Default

    When we can only Enable/Disable notecaddy it means that it is running in the free version. If some definitions that are not allowed in the free version and are in use in a HUD it will return an error message.

    The reinstall of NC aims at re-checking the licence and activating Notecaddy again.

    If your HUD and popups are not customized, reinstalling the package should be enough. In order to correct the popups/HUDlayout issues you mentioned, start with reimporting the HUD (even if it is the same you already have) to try fix those links to the popups.

    In customized HUD/popups we might need to re-add the specific note that is missing to the HUD or popup group. Any specific custom definitions that were removed when reinstalling NC should still be in the backup folder we moved earlier.

    Best wishes,

    jahrumble

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    67

    Default

    It's happening the same to me.

    1. Why is HM3 running the free version when my NC subscription is active?
    2. How can I backup the "Note Output"?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    245

    Default

    Hello Krovikhan,

    The free version of Notecaddy kicks in when HM3 is unable to check and activate the licence in the subscription.

    Sometimes when starting HM3 it might seem that Notecaddy is running in the free version as the "Show Notecaddy" option does not show initially. Waiting a few moments to allow for Notecaddy to properly launch after HM3 start can be enough. Do not rush to open Notecaddy. If it still does not show the option after at most a couple of minutes, then yes do the steps above to reinstall NC.

    To backup the "Note output" the file that saves these settings and we want to backup is called "defaultmappings.xml" in the AppData/Notecaddy folder. I have just tested and confirmed that it does not rename itself after a change has been saved (notice the date of last change).

    In your scenario, to make sure you keep a copy of the correct settings you saved, move the AppsData/Notecaddy folder backup before restarting the PC as we know they are reset at this point.
    Last edited by jahrumble; 10-17-2023 at 11:20 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-20-2015, 07:28 PM
  2. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-27-2014, 06:42 PM
  3. caddy scatter vs note caddy displaying
    By grimowsky in forum NoteCaddy
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-09-2013, 04:38 PM
  4. caddy scatter vs note caddy displaying
    By grimowsky in forum General Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-09-2013, 07:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •