NC settings resetting to default values after every PC restart
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    47

    Default NC settings resetting to default values after every PC restart

    Hello.

    I have noticed that the changes i do in the NC settings get reverted back to the default parameters every time i shut off my PC, and i have to re do it every day after starting it up.

    Of course i click on "save" after doing the changes and those stay for the rest of the time i have my PC working. So i can close HM and NC and run them again, and the changes stay as long as i dont shut the PC off.

    Any idea of why this could be happening?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    245

    Default

    Hello,

    I have tried to replicate this issue but was unable to.

    Please let me know what are the specific settings that are getting reset on your end so I can try to replicate this issue.

    If this issue is spread to ANY setting in the File - Settings tabs it can be a corrupt settings file.

    Doing these steps might fix the issue: http://notecaddy.com/Resetting-NoteC...-settings.ashx

    If it is specific to a few settings it might be a bug that needs adressing.

    Let me know how it goes,

    Best wishes,

    jahrumble

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Hi again.

    The files "caddyReportNewHandsLayout.xml" "caddyReportNewNotesLayout.xml" were not in the folder but deletting the others apparently was enough to fix the issue.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    58

    Default

    I forgot to say, that I always play 1 or 4 tables even on 888.it(+8 stars). today I only played on 888.it and during the session playing static tables I tried to restart HM3 and I got this error.Untitled 1.png

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Same problem here. The Notecaddy settings are reset every time I turn off the PC.

    I could only find these files to delete:

    caddyReportNewHandsLayout.xml
    caddyReportNewNotesLayout.xml
    defaultmappings.xml
    CaddySettings.xml

    I can't find the other ones but there is a:

    caddylayoutEx.xml
    ColorDefinitions.xml

    I don't know if I should delete these too.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    245

    Default

    Hello Krovikhan,

    For HM3 the path to find those files is: C:\Users\YourWindowsUserName\AppData\Roaming\Max Value Software\Holdem Manager\3.0\AppsData\NoteCaddy

    The document in the link above points to the HM2 install. Make sure you are deleting the files for the HM3/NC install.

    Close HM3 and remove all the files in the list below:

    caddysettings.xml
    caddylayout.xml
    noteDefinitionsLayout.xml
    colorDefinitionsLayout.xml
    defaultmappings.xml
    caddyReportNewHandsLayout.xml
    caddyReportNewNotesLayout.xml

    If you cannot find one of the files it is not the most important. Make sure that HM3 is closed and that the "HoldemManagerServer" is also not running when removing the files. This is so that when you launch HM3/NC again it will repopulate those files with new, uncorrupted files.

    Let me know how it went.

    Best wishes,

    jahrumble

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Yeah, I use the path you've mentioned (C:\Users\YourWindowsUserName\AppData\Roaming\Max Value Software\Holdem Manager\3.0\AppsData\NoteCaddy)

    I've deleted all files mentioned above.

    caddyReportNewHandsLayout.xml
    caddyReportNewNotesLayout.xml
    defaultmappings.xml
    CaddySettings.xml
    caddylayoutEx.xml
    ColorDefinitions.xml

    The problem persists.

    The settings I change to check if it works are:

    I uncheck the caddyscatter in the "Caddyscatter" tab to disable it.
    I change the first and second parameters on the "HUD" tab.
    I rearrange the groups order in the "Note Settings" tab.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    67

    Default

    I've tried again, being sure that everything (HM3, NC) was closed.

    I've notice that only these files have been restored.

    CaddySettings.xml
    ColorDefinitions.xml
    defaultmappings.xml

    I couldn't find the other ones anymore as you can see.


    Screenshot 2023-10-11 181905.png

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    245

    Default

    Hello Krovikhan,

    I was not able to replicate your issue using the settings you pointed. Even after restarting the PC every setting was showing with the new values.

    From the screenshot you have sent a few files are older than 11th October. This might be why it still is not able to save the changes correctly.

    In order to try and fix that try the following steps to reinstall Notecaddy:

    - Close HM3 and "Holdem Manager server" icon on bottom of your desktop.
    - Go to C:\Users\YourUserName\AppData\Roaming\Max Value Software\Holdem Manager\3.0\AppsData and move the Notecaddy folder to your desktop as a backup.
    - Restart HM3, allow a couple minutes for NC to reinstall. It should start the wizard after installing NC again.

    Test after reinstalling Notecaddy if the issue still happens. If so please open a support ticket and attach to it the log files so we can review them for any hint on what is causing this to happen on your side.

    Best wishes,

    jahrumble

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    67

    Default

    OK. I will do as you have said.

    A couple of things first:

    1. Moving the NC folder as a backup implies that all the definitions I've made are safe and I can restore them later, right? (if not, what should I do?)

    2. I had Notecaddy basic before Notecaddy smallstakes, could that be an issue?

    Thank you very much for your attention.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-05-2020, 10:20 AM
  2. Hero friend HUD stats resetting to 0 every session?
    By whitewash in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-27-2015, 04:07 PM
  3. Hud resetting every session only for 1 opponent
    By PlsHM2beserious in forum Bug Reports
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-27-2012, 07:57 AM
  4. Stake resetting every time I change filter
    By Seaweed in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-25-2010, 07:23 AM
  5. Resetting to default HUD settings
    By smf in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-24-2008, 09:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •