Backup/restore an old database
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    43

    Default Backup/restore an old database

    hallo gentlemen,

    i have an old database with around 2,8mio hero hands and probably many observed hands as well. the db size is 90GB.

    How would you go about creating a backup for this? Backup function seems to time out every time i try it. Exporting the hands, too.

    My next idea would be to export the hands in segments of say half a year and hope the database doesnt time out that way?


    any tips?
    these are my lifetime hands and i would like to keep them somewhere


    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    43

    Default

    is there a way to backup from pgadmin gui? that seems to be more reliable.. and if yes, which settings should i choose?

  3. #3
    *** HM3! *** fozzy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    HM Support
    Posts
    32,782

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by horsetranquilizer View Post
    hallo gentlemen,

    i have an old database with around 2,8mio hero hands and probably many observed hands as well. the db size is 90GB.

    How would you go about creating a backup for this? Backup function seems to time out every time i try it. Exporting the hands, too.

    My next idea would be to export the hands in segments of say half a year and hope the database doesnt time out that way?


    any tips?
    these are my lifetime hands and i would like to keep them somewhere


    thanks in advance
    If your database is 90 GB you will need 90 - 180 GB of Free Space on your system drive. Please see this FAQ to clear up some more free space - http://hm2faq.holdemmanager.com/ques...+of+Disk+Space

    Quote Originally Posted by horsetranquilizer View Post
    is there a way to backup from pgadmin gui? that seems to be more reliable.. and if yes, which settings should i choose?
    https://hm2faq.holdemmanager.com/que...nced+Method%29

    Note: Unfortunately, HM2 support ended on Dec 31, 2020 so it will likely not work at many of the sites that it used to support. If you continue to have problems, you will need to upgrade to HM3 for future technical support. You can read more about the HM2 End Of Life here.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    1

    Post

    Quote Originally Posted by horsetranquilizer View Post
    hallo gentlemen,

    i have an old database with around 2,8mio hero hands and probably many observed hands as well. the db size is 90GB.

    How would you go about creating a backup for this? Backup function seems to time out every time i try it. Exporting the hands, too.

    My next idea would be to export the hands in segments of say half a year and hope the database doesnt time out that way?


    any tips?
    these are my lifetime hands and i would like to keep them somewhere


    thanks in advance
    Exporting the hands in smaller segments is a good idea to avoid time-out errors during the backup process. You could also try optimizing the database to reduce its size and make the backup process faster. Alternatively, you could consider using a cloud storage service or an external hard drive to store the backup.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    43

    Default

    ah great the lack of space on the system drive is probably why i keep timing out. managed to do a full dump via pgadmin though.

    thanks for the replies!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    43

    Default

    one more thing:
    i noticed, the /postgresql/data folder is around 102gb and there are another 72gb of data in /holdemmanager/database

    what is that?

  7. #7
    *** HM3! *** fozzy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    HM Support
    Posts
    32,782

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by horsetranquilizer View Post
    one more thing:
    i noticed, the /postgresql/data folder is around 102gb
    That contains the bulk of the data for your HM2 database but not the entire HM2 database, like HM1 or PT4 would save in that same folder if you used those programs.

    Quote Originally Posted by horsetranquilizer View Post
    and there are another 72gb of data in /holdemmanager/database

    what is that?
    In HM1 there were a lot of tables that deal with a specific hand played by a specific player. In HM2 we don't have these tables, instead, for player related hand data, we use a flat file approach. Each player has his own folder and each file represents a single day. Each line within the file is a tokenized version of a single hand with incredible amounts of detail. Your overall HM2 spaced used (DB + Files) is about 2/3 of HM1 and we store probably 2-3 times as much info plus it can be accessed many, many times faster and allows us to do some things that wouldn't be possible otherwise. If you don't want the space in your Roaming folder due to limited C: file space, we do give you the option of storing this data anywhere when creating the database.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    43

    Default

    when i set up the database years ago, i bought a dedicated ssd for postgresql and also stored the the hm2-database folder on that drive.

    looks like this thread can be closed now. thanks again

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-02-2014, 03:16 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-18-2012, 09:10 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-19-2010, 08:31 AM
  4. Restoring a Database Using backup and restore Made a different database disappear!
    By onlymymissiscallsmedonkey in forum Manager General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-12-2010, 08:56 PM
  5. does "backup & restore" backup notes on players?
    By crypkilla in forum Manager General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-02-2010, 07:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •