moving HM3 to new PC
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    10

    Default moving HM3 to new PC

    I did search for this answer, but failed to find it. I just bought a new PC, I need to move HM3 and data to it. Is there a step by step process on how to do this most effectively? I do have access to the old PC. I have about 150K hands logged.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    *** HM3! *** fozzy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1971
    Location
    HM Support
    Posts
    32,385

    Default

    To transfer the HM3 database and settings from one PC to another:

    - Please create an HM3 backup via the Tools - 'Backup Database...' menu.
    - Transfer that file to your new PC via removable media/storage such as a USB flash drive.
    - Restore it via the Tools - 'Restore Database...' menu.
    - See this guide for more detailed instructions.

    Note:
    - Individual HUD Profiles can also be exported from the HUD - HUD Editor - Options button menu - https://kb.holdemmanager.com/knowled...itor#2-options
    - All original hands that are auto-imported get moved to an archive for performance reasons. Your \HM3Archive is in C:\HM3Archive by default, but you may have put it anywhere. The archive should be organized by \Network\Month\DayOfMonth (example: C:\HM3Archive\SiteName\HM3Archive\2016\07\31). It is configured in the Tools - Settings - Import menu.

    If you also want to manually backup the database/settings files:
    - Your actual uncompressed HM3 databases are stored in C:\Users\{UserName}\Documents\Holdem Manager 3\Databases\.
    - Your personalized HM3 settings/files are stored in C:\Users\{UserName}\AppData\Roaming\Max Value Software\Holdem Manager\3.0\.
    - If you can't see those folders/files, turn off the windows option that is hiding that directory - https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...0-1166d1d9f4b5

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    10

    Thumbs up

    That worked perfectly, thank you very much!

Similar Threads

  1. PC Freezes when moving HM3 to a different screen
    By trixter237 in forum HM3 Bug Reports
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-31-2021, 11:42 AM
  2. Moving my HM3 to a different laptop
    By roger_kamps@yahoo.com in forum HM3 General Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-19-2021, 12:57 PM
  3. HM3 - can I trade my HM2+HM3 license in for PT4?
    By ten25 in forum HM3 General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-26-2020, 08:23 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-19-2016, 03:57 AM
  5. Moving to a new PC, tips on licensing & moving DB
    By GrumpyDadPoker in forum Manager General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-04-2009, 03:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •