The best way of transfer HM database from desktop to laptop
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    49

    Default The best way of transfer HM database from desktop to laptop

    hi,

    i need to transfer large database from desktop to laptop. i have been using this desktop for about 1 year. I don't know how big is the database but it should be fairly big since it contains playing and mining data for at least a year of time.

    What's the best way to get the database transfered so i will be able to have all othe data?

    if the database is too large on my desktop and cannot be hosted on laptop, i would have to purge some of the outdated mining data from the database, how long is it going to take?

    thanks

    -jun

  2. #2
    Tech Support Manager morny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,889

    Default

    http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afm...aspx?faqid=101

    depends on how many hands but i wouldnt know exactly, if its millions of hands i.e 2-3 million maybe 3-4 hours as a guess, maybe do it while you sleep
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    We welcome any feedback on any solutions we provide, this helps us to provide better quality solutions in the future.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    49

    Default how big is my database going be for 10M hands?

    hi,

    thanks for the reply.

    i am trying to find out how big is my database. i didn't see anything in HM. i think i have 5-10M hands in database and i only have 5-10G of free space on my laptop. Is it going to be enough?

    thx

    -jun

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default

    FWIW:

    I have 11.2 million hands in my database
    It takes up 46.2 GB (uncompressed and indexed)

  5. #5
    Tech Support Manager morny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,889

    Default

    How big in hands or how big in GB's for hands see this thread: http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afm....aspx?faqid=19 to find out the size of the database go to C:\Program Files\PostgreSQL\8.3\Data and right click on the data folder and choose properties and it will show you in the properties window.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    We welcome any feedback on any solutions we provide, this helps us to provide better quality solutions in the future.

Similar Threads

  1. copying database to laptop
    By Adzi in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-21-2008, 08:15 PM
  2. Transfer hem from laptop to desktop database?
    By x50outzx in forum Manager General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-14-2008, 03:59 PM
  3. HM and MS Remote Desktop
    By rushhour in forum Manager General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-17-2008, 09:17 AM
  4. PT3 db transfer to HM
    By Oliv in forum Manager General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-19-2008, 09:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •