cannot connect to licence server
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Posts
    8

    Default cannot connect to licence server

    Hello,
    I cannot connect to the licence server so I cannot use HM3 at all. It is mega annoying on a sunday night. Tried to reinstall it, restart my laptop, etc. Th username and password is ok, I am really sure, because I can log into my account in chrome with the exact same credentials. Can you help me with this issue, please?
    Bests,
    Tamas

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    45

    Default

    same problem!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    14

    Default

    same

  4. #4
    Member omar2ndname's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    46

    Default

    I've experienced the same issue just now. I can't use HM3 tonight! My tournament session is gone ATM.
    Please, we'd like someone of the HM3 crew can explain to us what happens and when we will be able to use our SW. TY.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    7

    Angry

    I also have the same problem.

    Please Fix it!

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Same problem.. any solution?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Same problem

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    14

    Default

    works now!

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dastan30 View Post
    works now!
    Me too! Thank you mate.

  10. #10
    *** HM3! *** fozzy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1971
    Location
    HM Support
    Posts
    31,100

    Default

    We had a temporary issue with our server which is now resolved and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. Please try to launch and login to HM3 again.
    - Close your poker clients, close HM3 and right-click - 'Exit' the HM3 Server icon in the Windows Notification Tray.
    - Restart HM3 and login with your account email/password combination again.

    If you continue to have problems:

    Please reproduce and screenshot the error then collect, zip and attach your \Desktop\HM3logs files, the screenshots and details of what steps preceded the error to a support ticket - https://support.holdemmanager.com/su...les-to-support

Similar Threads

  1. can't connect to licence server
    By urmydestiny7 in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-15-2015, 09:47 AM
  2. can't connect to licence server
    By urmydestiny7 in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-15-2015, 09:43 AM
  3. Cannot validate licence or connect to holdemmanager.com
    By SchFerreira in forum General Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-22-2014, 07:14 PM
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-16-2014, 08:58 AM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-23-2010, 04:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •