Getting my HM3 database from one computer to another
Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    1

    Default Getting my HM3 database from one computer to another

    Hi!

    I have installed HM3 on my other computer and I want to get a database from the computer where I play and store my database.
    HM2 has a cloud function. All you need is to log in and sync your database.
    I can't find a similar function for my HM3. How do I upload my database to another computer giving that I don't play poker on that computer and the whole database is stored at another computer? Is there some kind of cloud service?
    If it is possible, how do I keep both databases updated?

    Thanks in advance for the answer.

  2. #2
    *** HM3! *** fozzy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1971
    Location
    HM Support
    Posts
    28,790

    Default

    You can transfer a database to a new computer for the first time a number of different ways. In HM2 the preferred way for the first transfer of a database to a new computer, even if it were to be a 'sync'd cloud database) was to first backup the database on the original machine then restore it on the new machine before you started playing and using HM2's Cloud/Sync feature.

    HMT-3119
    HM3 Cloud database sync - missing HM2 Feature


    HM2's Sync feature was actually quite flawed for many of our customers in a number of ways. HM3 has no such feature at this time but it is a very popular feature request. This feature request has been documented in detail and provided to the developers for future consideration. *If you want to be notified if/when it is added please send an email via the 'Contact Support' link and include "Notify Me When HMT-3119 Is Resolved" in the subject line and body of the email.

    The only way to 'sync them currently is manually. You would need to keep your \HM3Archive folder on both machines sync'd via dropbox (or similar cloud hosting service), and manually import recent hands to each computer like we suggest for HM2 -*http://hm2faq.holdemmanager.com/ques...+Using+Dropbox

    You can use the Tools - Backup/Restore Database menu option for the initial transfer of the database but after that you will have to manually import hands to keep them in sync.

    tools - backup or restore db 1.png


    Or you can simply transfer (or compress/zip, transfer and unzip if file size is a concern) a copy of the actual database file itself. HM2 used PostgreSQL and it's database was made up of thousands of smaller files but HM3 uses a flat single file *.hmdb file for the database.

    Close HM3 and right-click - 'Exit' the HM3 Server icon in the Windows Notification Tray.

    The *.hmdb files are saved by default in*C:\Users\{Username}\Documents\Holdem Manager 3\Databases

    If you are uploading it to a cloud service for someone like our support to download it, or putting it on a thumb drive to transfer and free space is a concern, you can compress the file (right-click - send to - compressed folder) before uploading or transferring.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-10-2013, 10:40 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-01-2012, 12:25 AM
  3. OLD computer Broken, getting Database onto new one
    By lootb4g in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-04-2010, 11:49 AM
  4. getting HH onto another computer
    By mt504 in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-09-2009, 10:34 AM
  5. History from one computer to another
    By TreeManG in forum Manager General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-29-2008, 10:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •