Getting my HM3 database from one computer to another
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Posts
    1

    Default Getting my HM3 database from one computer to another

    Hi!

    I have installed HM3 on my other computer and I want to get a database from the computer where I play and store my database.
    HM2 has a cloud function. All you need is to log in and sync your database.
    I can't find a similar function for my HM3. How do I upload my database to another computer giving that I don't play poker on that computer and the whole database is stored at another computer? Is there some kind of cloud service?
    If it is possible, how do I keep both databases updated?

    Thanks in advance for the answer.

  2. #2
    *** HM3! *** fozzy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1971
    Location
    HM Support
    Posts
    31,486

    Default

    You can transfer a database to a new computer for the first time a number of different ways. In HM2 the preferred way for the first transfer of a database to a new computer, even if it were to be a 'sync'd cloud database) was to first backup the database on the original machine then restore it on the new machine before you started playing and using HM2's Cloud/Sync feature.

    HMT-3119
    HM3 Cloud database sync - missing HM2 Feature


    HM2's Sync feature was actually quite flawed for many of our customers in a number of ways. HM3 has no such feature at this time but it is a very popular feature request. This feature request has been documented in detail and provided to the developers for future consideration. *If you want to be notified if/when it is added please send an email via the 'Contact Support' link and include "Notify Me When HMT-3119 Is Resolved" in the subject line and body of the email.

    The only way to 'sync them currently is manually. You would need to keep your \HM3Archive folder on both machines sync'd via dropbox (or similar cloud hosting service), and manually import recent hands to each computer like we suggest for HM2 -*http://hm2faq.holdemmanager.com/ques...+Using+Dropbox

    You can use the Tools - Backup/Restore Database menu option for the initial transfer of the database but after that you will have to manually import hands to keep them in sync.

    tools - backup or restore db 1.png


    Or you can simply transfer (or compress/zip, transfer and unzip if file size is a concern) a copy of the actual database file itself. HM2 used PostgreSQL and it's database was made up of thousands of smaller files but HM3 uses a flat single file *.hmdb file for the database.

    Close HM3 and right-click - 'Exit' the HM3 Server icon in the Windows Notification Tray.

    The *.hmdb files are saved by default in*C:\Users\{Username}\Documents\Holdem Manager 3\Databases

    If you are uploading it to a cloud service for someone like our support to download it, or putting it on a thumb drive to transfer and free space is a concern, you can compress the file (right-click - send to - compressed folder) before uploading or transferring.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fozzy71 View Post
    You can transfer a database to a new computer for the first time a number of different ways. In HM2 the preferred way for the first transfer of a database to a new computer, even if it were to be a 'sync'd cloud database) was to first backup the database on the original machine then restore it on the new machine before you started playing and using HM2's Cloud/Sync feature.

    HMT-3119
    HM3 Cloud database sync - missing HM2 Feature


    HM2's Sync feature was actually quite flawed for many of our customers in a number of ways. HM3 has no such feature at this time but it is a very popular feature request. This feature request has been documented in detail and provided to the developers for future consideration. *If you want to be notified if/when it is added please send an email via the 'Contact Support' link and include "Notify Me When HMT-3119 Is Resolved" in the subject line and body of the email.

    The only way to 'sync them currently is manually. You would need to keep your \HM3Archive folder on both machines sync'd via dropbox (or similar cloud hosting service), and manually import recent hands to each computer like we suggest for HM2 -*http://hm2faq.holdemmanager.com/ques...+Using+Dropbox

    You can use the Tools - Backup/Restore Database menu option for the initial transfer of the database but after that you will have to manually import hands to keep them in sync.

    tools - backup or restore db 1.png


    Or you can simply transfer (or compress/zip, transfer and unzip if file size is a concern) a copy of the actual database file itself. HM2 used PostgreSQL and it's database was made up of thousands of smaller files but HM3 uses a flat single file *.hmdb file for the database.

    Close HM3 and right-click - 'Exit' the HM3 Server icon in the Windows Notification Tray.

    The *.hmdb files are saved by default in*C:\Users\{Username}\Documents\Holdem Manager 3\Databases

    If you are uploading it to a cloud service for someone like our support to download it, or putting it on a thumb drive to transfer and free space is a concern, you can compress the file (right-click - send to - compressed folder) before uploading or transferring.
    Copied the .hmdb file from my old computer, tried both importing and restoring it. HM3 doesn't recognize the file - what now?

  4. #4
    You're out! udbrky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    20,761

    Default

    Did you use File - Open Database and point to the file?
    Regards udbrky (Chris)

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by udbrky View Post
    Did you use File - Open Database and point to the file?
    Has 3119 been resolved yet? I bought a new computer and would like to transfer my database over to new computer.

  6. #6
    *** HM3! *** fozzy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1971
    Location
    HM Support
    Posts
    31,486

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by huskerfan5b View Post
    Has 3119 been resolved yet? I bought a new computer and would like to transfer my database over to new computer.
    No, I do not have an estimate as to when we might develop a HM3 Cloud Database Sync.

    To transfer the HM3 database and settings from one PC to another:

    - Please create a HM3 backup via the Tools - 'Backup Database...' menu.
    - Transfer that file to your new PC via removable media/storage such as a USB flash drive.
    - Restore it via the Tools - 'Restore Database...' menu.

    You can make a backup of the active database and settings at any time by using the Tools - 'Backup Database...' menu then restore it using the Tools - 'Restore Database...' option.
    - Individual HUD Profiles can also be exported from the HUD - HUD Editor - Options button menu.
    - All original hands that are auto-imported get moved to an archive for performance reasons. Your \HM3Archive is in C:\HM3Archive by default, but you may have put it anywhere. The archive should be organized by \Network\Month\DayOfMonth (example: C:\HM3Archive\SiteName\HM3Archive\2016\07\31). It is configured in the Tools - Settings - Import menu.

    If you also want to manually backup the database/settings files: Your actual uncompressed HM3 databases are stored in C:\Users\{UserName}\Documents\Holdem Manager 3\Databases\. Your personalized HM3 settings/files are stored in C:\Users\{UserName}\AppData\Roaming\Max Value Software\Holdem Manager\3.0\. If you can't see those folders/files, turn off the windows option that is hiding that directory.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Thank you. That was helpful. I saved the database to a flash drive. And on my new computer, I started the restore database process. It found the correct type of file on my flash drive, but once the restore started, nothing happened, no progress bar, just this image appeared as if the restoration had started and was in progress but no progress bar. See attached image. What should I do next? IMG_20210722_1506325.jpg

    Quote Originally Posted by fozzy71 View Post
    No, I do not have an estimate as to when we might develop a HM3 Cloud Database Sync.

    To transfer the HM3 database and settings from one PC to another:

    - Please create a HM3 backup via the Tools - 'Backup Database...' menu.
    - Transfer that file to your new PC via removable media/storage such as a USB flash drive.
    - Restore it via the Tools - 'Restore Database...' menu.

    You can make a backup of the active database and settings at any time by using the Tools - 'Backup Database...' menu then restore it using the Tools - 'Restore Database...' option.
    - Individual HUD Profiles can also be exported from the HUD - HUD Editor - Options button menu.
    - All original hands that are auto-imported get moved to an archive for performance reasons. Your \HM3Archive is in C:\HM3Archive by default, but you may have put it anywhere. The archive should be organized by \Network\Month\DayOfMonth (example: C:\HM3Archive\SiteName\HM3Archive\2016\07\31). It is configured in the Tools - Settings - Import menu.

    If you also want to manually backup the database/settings files: Your actual uncompressed HM3 databases are stored in C:\Users\{UserName}\Documents\Holdem Manager 3\Databases\. Your personalized HM3 settings/files are stored in C:\Users\{UserName}\AppData\Roaming\Max Value Software\Holdem Manager\3.0\. If you can't see those folders/files, turn off the windows option that is hiding that directory.

  8. #8
    You're out! udbrky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    20,761

    Default

    Try moving it to your local drive first.
    Regards udbrky (Chris)

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by udbrky View Post
    Try moving it to your local drive first.
    Thanks. I did that and it found the file and said restore complete very quickly (which I found odd because I have close to 400K hands) but then when I opened HM3 there were no hands there anymore, not even the ones that I had played on the new computer in the first instance.

  10. #10
    *** HM3! *** fozzy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1971
    Location
    HM Support
    Posts
    31,486

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by huskerfan5b View Post
    Thanks. I did that and it found the file and said restore complete very quickly (which I found odd because I have close to 400K hands) but then when I opened HM3 there were no hands there anymore, not even the ones that I had played on the new computer in the first instance.
    Can you upload that *.hmdbbackup file to a file hosting site and send that to us in a support ticket for testing along with a copy of your log files please?

    Please 'Contact Support' with a link to this thread and your forum username.

    If the attachment is larger than 10MB please upload them to a file hosting site wetransfer or filedropper and copy/paste the download link directly into the support ticket email.

    Please reproduce the problem and attach a set of log files and a screenshot and detailed description of the issue in the support ticket you created.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-10-2013, 10:40 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-01-2012, 12:25 AM
  3. OLD computer Broken, getting Database onto new one
    By lootb4g in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-04-2010, 11:49 AM
  4. getting HH onto another computer
    By mt504 in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-09-2009, 10:34 AM
  5. History from one computer to another
    By TreeManG in forum Manager General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-29-2008, 10:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •