literate-perfunctory
Poker Software
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    9

    Default HUD isnt working properly.

    Hello HM Support, im playing a like 7 hands in the tables but the stats of some players doest appear, and instead I only can see a line. It happens randomly.

    If I stop the HUD and start it again, it starts to work fine, but this happens so often that is really unpleasent.

    How could I fix this?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    *** HM3! *** fozzy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1971
    Location
    HM Support
    Posts
    28,351

    Default

    Are you using any customized HUD/Tournament filters?

    Make sure the HUD Settings > General Settings > Common Settings > [ ] 'Use session stats' is disabled. Also check the Table HUD Options to be sure it is set to All Hands and not Session Stats.

    - HUD Settings > HUD Filters should all be set to '2 to 10' and make sure that both check box options under Filter by limits are checked [x].

    - HUD Settings > HUD Filters > Filter by date / numer of hands > 'Include hands newer than X months old' should be set to 120 and 'Use last X hands' should be set to 0.

    - HUD Settings > Tournament Filters are all set to '1 to 81+'. Changing these filters to anything other than their default settings will make the HUD Stats change drastically based on the number of players at the table and/or their stack sizes in tournaments.

    If that doesn't fix the issues, please reproduce the problem and attach a screenshot - https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...re-screenshots - showing the HUD, the Report for one of the selected players with the problems, and pictures of the HUD Filters and Tournament Filters and attach a log file as explained in this FAQ.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fozzy71 View Post
    Are you using any customized HUD/Tournament filters?

    [/URL].
    Yes im using customized Stats and HUDs. Is there a new distinction to apply?

  4. #4
    You're out! udbrky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    19,743

    Default

    That will change the stats that you see, because they're filtered to only show the # of bb range or players at the table.
    Regards udbrky (Chris)

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Its working now properly!! It worked, thank you!

  6. #6
    You're out! udbrky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    19,743

    Default

    You are very welcome. Thank you for letting us know it solved your problems. It helps us when crafting future replies to other customers with similar problems.

    Good luck at the tables. If you have any further questions or problems do not hesitate to ask us.
    Regards udbrky (Chris)

Similar Threads

  1. my hud isnt working correctly
    By marcoluft in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-22-2009, 05:50 PM
  2. hud isnt working correctly...
    By jackwilcox in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-18-2009, 09:38 AM
  3. Hud isnt working for S&G's @ evp, but does work for cashgames
    By aasisdebaas in forum Manager General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-25-2009, 10:42 AM
  4. HUD isnt working for UltimateBet 2/26/09
    By benstunner in forum Manager General
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 03-02-2009, 04:54 PM
  5. HUD Isnt working on one table
    By Bingo_Babe in forum Manager General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-07-2008, 11:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •