How to switch databases - using 2 databases on 2 different postgres versions
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default How to switch databases - using 2 databases on 2 different postgres versions

    I have the "default" postgresql installed in C: using port 5432

    I have installed a new postgresql version on a different partition using port 5433 and made a new database.

    How can I switch to the old database?

  2. #2
    HM Support Patvs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Amsterdam, the Netherlands
    Posts
    33,523

    Default

    There is no real easy way to switch between them.

    You can either: create a new database on the port of the other database. Then you're able to switch to that database.
    Or... close HM2. Stop the PostgreSQL server of the current database. Start HM2, so it will use the database on the other port.
    Participate in the Beta release of the newest Hold'em Manager version: HM Cloud. Sign-up HERE.

    If you would like to leave some feedback to help us improve the quality of the solutions, and/or the support quality you received, - you can do this here

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Thanks.
    Second solution is working.
    Close HM2.
    Open Control Panel -> Administrative tools -> Services and stop latest postgresql.
    Open HM2 and it will say that can't connect to database and start a little tutorial to help you connect. Change the port and on the next step select use existing database. And is working. To go back to latest database repeat the process but stop the old postgresql and start the latest.
    It is pretty easy but you should add that option to select database port in HM2 not only when can't connect to a database

  4. #4
    *** HM3! *** fozzy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1971
    Location
    HM Support
    Posts
    32,193

    Default

    Very few of our customers use multiple postgresql installations/ports so we wanted to keep the configuration options as simple as possible for the majority.

Similar Threads

  1. Help me clean up my Postgres folder and my databases
    By foxten1 in forum General Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-12-2013, 03:19 AM
  2. Old databases
    By alchemik in forum General Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-26-2012, 02:10 PM
  3. Hero Hud name change when I switch from databases
    By gimmedimes in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-24-2010, 11:03 AM
  4. Can I have 2 databases?
    By crassius in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-08-2010, 10:11 AM
  5. Use of 2 databases with HEM
    By r8b8l in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-21-2009, 08:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •