Transfering HEM to a new PC
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    64

    Default Transfering HEM to a new PC

    New pc arrives tomorrow. Any tips on the easiest and safest way to t/fer HEM from old pc to new one?

    key points are:
    do I download HEM on new pc or copy the program accross?
    do I use the same product key obtained when purchasing?
    how do i ensure my hand database get accross if i do download HEM again?
    any issues with postgres? Again, do I set this up from scratch and import all hands again or can i transport the db as is? If so, how?

    Any advice from someone who's done this gratefully received. DB is 'worth' more than the new pc to me

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member _Loki_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    B/ham UK
    Posts
    2,856

    Default

    Hi Tim64 - My main suggestion is you trawl through the FAQ's & you do your back ups

    Here is my suggested process, but it's not the last word & you should wait for a proper support person to reply here

    Quote Originally Posted by Tim64 View Post
    do I download HEM on new pc or copy the program accross?
    Download


    do I use the same product key obtained when purchasing?
    Yes - one licence is good for two computers
    Open HM on new PC. Go to the menu bar at the top. click on the 'help' menu to the right & you can register your 2nd PC through there if your browser is on

    how do i ensure my hand database get across if i do download HEM again?
    ##################
    "This FAQ details the numerous ways you can Import & Export Hand History files from Holdem Manager"
    http://faq.holdemmanager.com/questio...6+Export+Hands

    See the section called 'Export all files' & do this in HM on your old PC - your HH's will go automatically to a newly automatically created folder here on your old PC:
    C:\Program Files\RVG Software\Holdem Manager\HandHistoryExport_(what you named the database originally)

    ##################
    When you have HM & postgreSQL set up on your new PC you can move these HH across into a folder you've created on your new PC (I would use a memory stick, but I don't have millions of hands) & import into a new DB you have created there (see same FAQ above)

    If you have loads of HH's I think the best way is to use a network - but I'm not sure how

    ##################
    This explains about moving the notes across:
    http://208.109.95.123/faq/afmmain.aspx?faqid=119


    any issues with postgres? Again, do I set this up from scratch and import all hands again or can i transport the db as is? If so, how?
    IMO... Better to set up postgreSQL fresh & do what I suggested above to get your HH's into postgreSQL (through HEM)

    But...

    there's some new installers now & there's more than one version of postgreSQL now so don't listen to me on this

  3. #3
    Senior Member _Loki_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    B/ham UK
    Posts
    2,856

    Default

    Also you might use this opportunity to clean up your database of unwanted HH's by purging (because too old, wrong stakes, wrong sites etc) - this removes those HH's, but preserves the stats (which you will get rid of in a minute)

    I would do this on your old PC BEFORE you 'Export all files' to C:\Program Files\RVG Software\Holdem Manager\HandHistoryExport_(what you named the database originally)

    When the export is done you obviously will not then be exporting the purged HH's & also you will lose the stats element associated with the purged HH's - which is a good thing !

    http://faq.holdemmanager.com/questio...+from+Database
    http://faq.holdemmanager.com/questio...+Configuration

  4. #4
    *** HM3! *** fozzy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1971
    Location
    HM Support
    Posts
    31,750

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tim64 View Post
    New pc arrives tomorrow. Any tips on the easiest and safest way to t/fer HEM from old pc to new one?

    key points are:
    do I download HEM on new pc or copy the program accross?
    Download and install with our new combo installer, if you are installing a new DB. If you are going to reinstall an old DB, and old version of postgresql, uncheck that option when installing HM.

    http://www.holdemmanager.com/downloa...ager_Setup.exe


    do I use the same product key obtained when purchasing?
    You can use the same code for 2 of your own PC's, just choose the PC#2 slot when registering.

    Please try using our registration system to register your current/new license. Then you will be able to retrieve or reset your own license, as needed. http://www.holdemmanager.net/Registration/

    To get your current license from your running installation of HEM: Help > Show Serial Number

    You will need to sign up, login, and then reset your code, then logout/login, to verify it was reset.

    how do i ensure my hand database get accross if i do download HEM again?
    You can try to move your entire \data folder if you have an external hard drive. Or you can try a .backup/restore of your old DB. Or you can import all your original/archived hand histories. I usually import the originals as my DB isn't real large like some people. Search our FAQs for details on the different processes.

    any issues with postgres? Again, do I set this up from scratch and import all hands again or can i transport the db as is? If so, how?
    If you have an external hard drive to transfer the DB:

    Please update to the latest beta - http://www.holdemmanager.com/downloads/HmBetaUpdate.exe

    For reinstalling SQL to the same DB, follow these steps:

    1) Uninstall PostgreSQL from the Windows Control Panel.
    2) If you are moving the DB to a different drive/partition, manually cut or copy the \Postgresql\8.x\data directory to it's new location.
    3) run the command - start > programs > accessories > command prompt > right-click > run as administrator
    PHP Code:
    net user postgres /delete 
    4) reboot.
    5) Install the same version of PostgreSQL as your current DB using these instructions - http://faq.holdemmanager.com/questio...g+Old+Database
    6) If you have moved/installed your DB to a non-default location, please make sure to change the 'Data Directory' path during the installation.


    Here is the backup/restore process - http://faq.holdemmanager.com/questio...store+Database


    If you play a site like stars/ftp you can email their support and ask for all your old hand histories and tourney summaries.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    64

    Default

    wow! loads of great advice here - will get started tomorrow. In an effort to cover all bases, i have:

    1. backed up the entire DB to an external hard drive.

    2. separately backed up the HHs themselves - in their origianl format as copied to the pc from the poker client - again to an external hard drive

    3. separately exported the notes and exported the hand histories (and copied my Config folder as well - so that i don't have to reconfiq HUD etc) and copied these exported files from the RGV/HEM folder on C:/ to the external hard drive.

    My main question then is: if I install HEM and Postgres 3 on the new PC from scratch, should I then be able to simply use the backed up database (by selecting it via recovery option in Postgres from the external drive) and if so, am I correct that I shouldn't need to separately re-import the HHs, notes and tourney summaries?

    What I'm really wanting to check is that you either recover the db as a whole, OR you 'recreate' is by importing HHs etc, but you don't do both. Is that correct?

    Thanks in advance,
    Tim

  6. #6
    *** HM3! *** fozzy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1971
    Location
    HM Support
    Posts
    31,750

    Default

    Correct. The Restore option should recreate the DB as it was. You would need to import any new hands played since the date of the .backup file.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default Licence if new windows or re-installing windows

    Hi, since we can only use our licence on two computers, what happens if I install a newer version of Windows, or want to reinstall my old one.

    I'm gonna switch to Win7 soon and I have taken the habit of using a ghost to re-install the OS regularly.

    Am I gonna be able to keep doing it, or will I be stuck with a windows I cannot re-install ?

  8. #8
    HM Support netsrak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    25,768

    Default

    You can reset your key via our registration system (link in my signature).

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    What has been described here seems real complicated. Woud this process work? Transfer HEM archived file to new computer, Install HEM on new computer, then using the import tab in HEM>import from folder>hem archive file.

  10. #10
    *** HM3! *** fozzy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1971
    Location
    HM Support
    Posts
    31,750

    Default

    Yes, assuming that all of that hands that are in your DB are in your archive. I recommend you do as you describe, but also export your DB and then import those to the new PC. The \HMArchive only gets hands that are auto imported while you play. If you ever did bulk imports in the past or lost/deleted your archive, your DB may have more hands than is in your \HMArchive.

    We are working on a new 1-click backup/restore process to simplify this in the future. A backup that will backup all of your settings, HUDs, notes, etc, along with your DB.

Similar Threads

  1. Transfering licenses
    By Ace1247 in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-04-2009, 02:26 PM
  2. Transfering a HUD to my boi
    By probability in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-02-2009, 07:44 PM
  3. Transfering from HD to HD on same PC
    By ren99 in forum Manager General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-17-2009, 06:42 AM
  4. Transfering from PT3
    By Manhat10ite in forum Manager General
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 11-15-2008, 11:56 PM
  5. Transfering files
    By gimmeyurchips in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-02-2008, 10:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •