HELP: Can't start HEM, started getting error notification
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default HELP: Can't start HEM, started getting error notification

    When I try to open HEM a window pops up telling me there is an error. It says:

    An error occured while reading the config//holdemmanager.config file:root element is missing.

    Holdemmanager will now back up the old config file and create a new one for you.


    I click ok and then get:

    Unhandled exception has occured in your application. If you click continue the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue> If you click Quit, the application will close immediately.

    Cannot create a file when that file already exists.


    If I click continue here HEM doesnt respond.

    Under details is says:

    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files/RVG%20Software/Holdem%20Manager/DeployLX.Licensing.v3.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3053 (netfxsp.050727-3000)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Web
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.3074 (QFE.050727-3000)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_32/System.Web/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Web.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.

    For example:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.


    Please help!

  2. #2

  3. #3
    *** HM3! *** fozzy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1971
    Location
    HM Support
    Posts
    31,836

    Default

    Try pasting this file into your \holdem manager\config folder.


    http://www.holdemmanager.com/downloa...Manager.config


    If that doesnt work, try a clean reinstall of HM


    Before you uninstall HM:

    I want to re-install Holdem Manger without losing all of my settings and preferences. Can this be done? - http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afm....aspx?faqid=98

    You want to make sure you backup your Processed/Archived hand histories, your entire \config folder, and your exportednotes file. http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/?f=119. I usually just copy my entire \Holdem Manager directory.

    I would also make sure you manually export the database to hand history text files:

    HM > Options > Database Management > Connect > Export Hands

    How do I export or import hands into and from Holdem Manager? - http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afm...aspx?faqid=173

    Make sure you copy that folder as well as the other stuff I mentioned.

    This helps to insure that if anything goes wrong with the backup/restore, you can manually import the exported files to rebuild.



    If you have Vista, please verify that UAC is still off. - http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afmmain.aspx?faqid=73. If it is on, please turn it off and reboot.

    Turn off Windows Firewall for installing HM and PostgreSQL. You must also add exceptions to the Windows firewall, even if it is off. If you have a 3rd party firewall, uninstall it completely before installing HM/SQL - http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afm...aspx?faqid=171

    1) Make a backup of your C:\Program Files\RVG Software\Holdem Manager\Config folder, and any other important files mentioned earlier.
    2) Uninstall HM with www.revouninstaller.com using the Deep setting.
    3) If given the option, on the 2 following screens of Revo, choose the Select All > Delete buttons to remove any registry entries and leftover files.
    4) Reboot your computer
    5) Install the complete setup of HM: http://www.holdemmanager.com/downloa...demmanager.zip
    6) Download the latest patch HM: http://www.holdemmanager.com/downloads/HmBetaUpdate.exe
    7) Test if it for a while and see if it work

    11) Now you can import any custom hud configs.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-09-2009, 01:44 PM
  2. dl new version, started getting this error
    By scottuga44 in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-20-2009, 06:15 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-11-2009, 09:01 AM
  4. Start-up error
    By High-Tower in forum Manager General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-03-2009, 08:11 PM
  5. Error at Start Up - HM won't start
    By zook in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-01-2008, 06:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •