can't even open HEM
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default can't even open HEM

    when i try to open HEM it says: Holdem Manager has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience. If you were in the middle of something, the information you were working on might be lost.

    then i just have to click close.

    I have tried reloading the software and i get the same error message.

    what do i need to do to fix this?

  2. #2
    *** HM3! *** fozzy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1971
    Location
    HM Support
    Posts
    29,843

    Default

    reboot

    Please update to the latest beta - http://www.holdemmanager.com/downloads/HmBetaUpdate.exe.


    If that doesn't help, we will have to try a clean reinstall:


    Before you uninstall HM:

    I want to re-install Holdem Manger without losing all of my settings and preferences. Can this be done? - http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afm....aspx?faqid=98

    You want to make sure you backup your Processed/Archived hand histories, your entire \config folder, and your exportednotes file. http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/?f=119. I usually just copy my entire \Holdem Manager directory.

    I would also make sure you manually export the database to hand history text files:

    HM > Options > Database Management > Connect > Export Hands

    How do I export or import hands into and from Holdem Manager? - http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afm...aspx?faqid=173

    Make sure you copy that folder as well as the other stuff I mentioned.

    This helps to insure that if anything goes wrong with the backup/restore, you can manually import the exported files to rebuild.


    If you have Vista, please verify that UAC is still off. - http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afmmain.aspx?faqid=73. If it is on, please turn it off and reboot.

    Turn off Windows Firewall for installing HM and PostgreSQL. You must also add exceptions to the Windows firewall, even if it is off. If you have a 3rd party firewall, uninstall it completely before installing HM/SQL - http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afm...aspx?faqid=171

    1) Make a backup of your C:\Program Files\RVG Software\Holdem Manager\Config folder, and any other important files mentioned earlier.
    2) Uninstall HM with www.revouninstaller.com using the Deep setting.
    3) If given the option, on the 2 following screens of Revo, choose the Select All > Delete buttons to remove any registry entries and leftover files.
    4) Reboot your computer
    5) Install the complete setup of HM: http://www.holdemmanager.com/downloa...demmanager.zip
    6) Download the latest patch HM: http://www.holdemmanager.com/downloads/HmBetaUpdate.exe
    7) Test if it for a while and see if it work
    8) Close down Holdem Manager and rename the current, working \config folder to \config_original. Now copy your \config folder from step 1 and paste it to your C:\Program Files\RVG Software\Holdem Manager\ fodler, to replace the one you just renamed.
    9) Test if it works again for a while
    10) If your old config folder causes problems, you can paste the contents of the \config_original folder back in.
    11) Now you can import any notes and hud configs.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    did everything u said...uninstalled .net framework

    and now i'm getting errors when it tries to install. any ideas?

    *did everything u said, nothing worked...so i saw another post of urs talking about the .net framework.
    Last edited by cuesta22; 09-01-2009 at 11:02 PM.

  4. #4
    HM Support netsrak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    25,709

    Default

    Is it working now or do you need further help?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    i can't seem to get it working. any further help would be greatly appreciated.

  6. #6
    HM Support netsrak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    25,709

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fozzy71 View Post
    ...
    2) Uninstall HM with www.revouninstaller.com using the Deep setting.
    3) If given the option, on the 2 following screens of Revo, choose the Select All > Delete buttons to remove any registry entries and leftover files.
    4) Reboot your computer
    5) Install the complete setup of HM: http://www.holdemmanager.com/downloa...demmanager.zip
    6) Download the latest patch HM: http://www.holdemmanager.com/downloads/HmBetaUpdate.exe
    ...
    Did you try this?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    yes i have tried that and i still get the exact same result....

    not sure what else i can even do. thanks again for the timely help.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    my guess is i need to load the .NET Framework 3.5 like the other post had mentioned to get it to work...however it comes up with errors when i even try to do that.

    but that makes no sense because i have been using HEM for 6 months and never had this problem.

    i'm going to keep messing around with it, but if you can offer any assistance i would appreciate it.

    i play poker on a semi-professional level...so not being able to play for a couple days is really hurting.

    thanks

  9. #9
    *** HM3! *** fozzy71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1971
    Location
    HM Support
    Posts
    29,843

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cuesta22 View Post
    my guess is i need to load the .NET Framework 3.5 like the other post had mentioned to get it to work...however it comes up with errors when i even try to do that.
    ..
    Reinstall Microsoft .NET Framework:

    1) Go to Control Panel -> Add/Remove Software and uninstall every Microsoft .NET Framework you can find in the list.
    2) Install this one: http://download.microsoft.com/downlo...dotnetfx35.exe

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    i am unable to uninstall .net framework...

    when i try to uninstall it i get this error:

    The feature you are trying to use in on a network resource that is unavailable.

    Click OK to try again, or enter an alternate path to folder containing the installation package 'tmp31.tmp' in the box below.

    No idea what to do from here...I tried a search to find that file and it is not anywhere on my computer.

    :-( wtf

Similar Threads

  1. can't open HEM
    By escence in forum Manager General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-14-2009, 02:47 AM
  2. I can't open HM, help please !
    By mezmerize in forum Manager General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-11-2009, 04:17 PM
  3. I cant open HM please help
    By jo5e7 in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-10-2009, 08:00 AM
  4. can't open hem
    By klink10k in forum Manager General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-15-2008, 10:50 PM
  5. hem won't open
    By sitting out in forum Manager General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-13-2008, 05:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •