Moving to a new PC, tips on licensing & moving DB
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Member GrumpyDadPoker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    47

    Question Moving to a new PC, tips on licensing & moving DB

    In the next few days I'll get hold of my new desktop (yes I love to play on a desktop with couple of big monitors, and save the laptop for the occasional use on the road).

    Nevertheless, I'm looking at a FAQ on how to move my DB to the new PC with the minimum effort. The DB was just rebuild some weeks ago when I installed 1.08 (release). By re-build I mean I took the time to re-import all my hands so the new stats and tourneys are properly processed.

    The second question has to do with licensing, how can I move my license from one machine to another?

  2. #2
    Member GrumpyDadPoker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    47

    Default

    BTW the new system will be a Vista 64, any issues or extra steps I should take?

  3. #3
    Senior Member stretch00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    LAG'tard HELL
    Posts
    556

    Default

    Ther's a few threads if you search as recent as 3 days old.
    But I do know there's alot in newbie thread,you have to be administrater,turn UAC off and save you serial# under help tab in HM

  4. #4
    Tech Support Manager morny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,889

    Default

    Heres one on something similar, it goes into detail on what you need to backup http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afm...aspx?faqid=101

    The basically just export your hands http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afm...aspx?faqid=173

    Also you can use the backup and restore method http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afm....aspx?faqid=12 but if your doing this do the export method too incase anything goes wrong with the restore.

    Then just reinstall HM and PostgreSQL on the new PC and reimport the hands or restore the hands

    Finally take note of your license key Using the Help Menu > Show Serial, then email me when youve switched PCs and send me the key and ill reset it so you can re-use it morny@holdemmanager.net
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    We welcome any feedback on any solutions we provide, this helps us to provide better quality solutions in the future.

  5. #5
    Member GrumpyDadPoker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    47

    Default

    Thanks Morny, thanks so much.

    I know why I'm not only a customer of HM, but a fan and an Evangelist. It's not because it's a great product (which it is), it's not because you take it to the edge (which you do). It's because you listen to us (enhancements), it's because in top of that you support us as no one in the software industry has ever did.

    By FAN and EVANGELIST I mean my public support and advocacy in the leading spanish language portal where I wrote, on a regular basis, articles on HoldEm Tourney support, and Omaha support. Anyone curious will find those articles listed here
    [url] (Spanish language)

    THANKS SO MUCH!

  6. #6
    Member GrumpyDadPoker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    47

    Default

    What about the tournaments results, for Stars you can request them but not for other sites, so I've been typing them in ... all there in my old system, how I move them to the new one?
    I followed your advice and exported the hands, then re-imported them.

  7. #7
    Senior Member stretch00's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    LAG'tard HELL
    Posts
    556

    Default

    DId you backup the SQL database also! If you did that you can just restore you old database and it all should be there just as it was on old system.
    The purpose of you exporting the hands was in case something went wrong with the original SQL database.So if that database is good then your all set

  8. #8
    Tech Support Manager morny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,889

    Default

    Yeah you can also export summaries via the data view tab by right click on the selected tournaments and choose export summary results
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    We welcome any feedback on any solutions we provide, this helps us to provide better quality solutions in the future.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    39

    Default Moving PC's and I can't save my HUD settings...

    I have my original database and settings intact on my old PC. I followed the directions in the above post, but I've been unable to transfer my HUD settings/layout to my new PC. I'm using the replayer to verify that the settings were transferred.

    I tried uninstalling and re-installing HM on my new computer, deleting the config file in it's entirety and replacing it with the file from my old PC, but this method isn't working. I am using version 1.08.04. How can I transfer my HUD settings/layout?

    Thank you

  10. #10
    Tech Support Manager morny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    20,889

    Default

    Should work unless your huds were created with a really old version, also HM should be closed down when your deleting the files and copying the new one, when you say it dosent work do you get errors or what do you see?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    We welcome any feedback on any solutions we provide, this helps us to provide better quality solutions in the future.

Similar Threads

  1. Moving from PT3 to Hem
    By garg in forum Manager General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-01-2009, 06:20 PM
  2. HUD keeps moving
    By _Pikey_ in forum Manager General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-18-2009, 06:04 PM
  3. Moving certain stats
    By PandaFTP in forum Manager General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-12-2009, 04:40 PM
  4. HUD moving down
    By zippo in forum Manager General
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-25-2008, 12:18 PM
  5. moving DB to CD
    By mocky in forum Manager General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-05-2008, 10:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •