PDA

View Full Version : Help!

bigbills
02-20-2009, 05:18 AM
Hi,

I'm new to HM. In fact, I've only just got a new laptop with a new online poker account so not played many hands. I've installed HM and I'm totally confused.

1. Does HM work off HH ?

2. Do I need to get a few thousand hands under my belt to obtain any realistic information from it ?

3. I'm a live player, can anyone suggest a suitable HUD setup for me as its just all letters and numbers and far too much to take in.

I've looked at the tutorial and i think its pants. I want to learn and use this program but my first impressions are not good. Can anyone point me in the right direction ?

Kind regards,

Martin.

morny
02-20-2009, 03:08 PM
1) Yes

2) Yes, variance plays a part so you need 10k hands before there worth looking at and probably at least 30k before you can be confident of a true win rate, possibly alot more.

3) See the hud configurations forum for example huds, also see the manual http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afmviewfaq.aspx?faqid=182

Unfortunately since poker is so complex it requires a bit of effort, if you put that in then youll get back alot for it. I think thats a good thing because if it was as easy as running HM and you suddenly became a good player then there would be too many good players and it would be harder to make a profit, the people who make the effort and put in the time to learn more are usually the ones that make a profit and the people who dont tend to fund the players that do.

bigbills
02-21-2009, 05:20 AM
Cheers for that, I've set my hero name and now HM is auto importing the hands. All I need to do is play more!

Does HM track every player that is online while i'm online or only the players at my table ?

Would it be a good idea to sit at as many tables as possible ?

Thanks in advance,

Martin

morny
02-21-2009, 02:40 PM