PDA

View Full Version : $ ev?

Nikita
01-20-2009, 10:30 AM
Hi all,

I'm new at HM and using the 15 Day Trial version at the moment. I want to buy the full pack when the 15 days are over but right now I have 2 quick questions:

1. What does it mean when the $ EV is negative? Do I play badly? And is it correct that if the $ EV is higher or lower then the $ I have been lucky/unlucky?

2. How can I see the folded hands from players right after a hand has been played?

It would be great of someone could help me out here:)

Cheers,
Nikita

morny
01-20-2009, 10:32 AM
1) http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afmviewfaq.aspx?faqid=68

2) You can only see the hands if there is a showdown, on some sites like Ongame losing hands at showdown only appear if the opponent decides to show them but most sites show them

You can see them in the HUD also if they are shown by setting up mucked cards http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afmviewfaq.aspx?faqid=139

Nikita
01-20-2009, 10:40 AM
Thanks Morny, for the super fast reply:)

1. I already read this FAQ but just wanted to hear the answer to this question in 'normal words' (in my words I guess), perhaps from other players? Do you guys use this stat a lot ($ EV)? Does it say something about my choice of hands I play or just about the outcome?!

2. So there is no advantage in HM over the regular HH's of the site I play on (Betfred in this case)?

Thanks again,
Nikita

morny
01-20-2009, 10:46 AM
1) It just gives you an idea of how lucky you are, if your actually winning for the month was $5k and your all in luck says $7k then that means had you had average luck you should have won $2k more which basically means you probably lost alot of pots where you were a big favourite and/or lost more 50/50's than you won.