PDA

View Full Version : postgres installer problem!

upandcoming
12-26-2008, 06:30 PM
When I run postgres 8.3 and get to the installation wizard and then hit start i get this message: The installation package could not be opened, verify that the package exists and that you can access it, or contact the application vendor to verify that this is a valid Windows installer program.

What do I need to do to fix this?

thanks

Al1
12-27-2008, 09:15 AM
Hi,

Can you try this postgreSQL: http://wwwmaster.postgresql.org/download/mirrors-ftp/binary/v8.3.5/win32/postgresql-8.3.5-1.zip

upandcoming
12-27-2008, 11:12 AM
sorry to ask, I'm new at this stuff, but which one do I choose, Http or FTP for USA?

Al1
12-27-2008, 11:45 AM
sorry to ask, I'm new at this stuff, but which one do I choose, Http or FTP for USA?

It doesn't matter. It's allways the same file.

upandcoming
12-27-2008, 03:58 PM
Still not working! I get the same error message as before!

morny
12-27-2008, 04:45 PM
Are you extracting the file first?

upandcoming
12-27-2008, 05:24 PM
I am using windows XP. I downloaded the full version from the site yesterday, so it should be the latest version I'm guessing.

Next I open Holdem Manger and get to a screen Connect to PostgreSQL. I hit connect, and a message saying a connection to PostgreSQL could not be made. I guess I didnt have PostgreSQl installed so I hit the postgres install instructions. Get a window then I click the download postgres link. I saved the filed, then I opened file postgres 8.3, then double click the computer labeled postgres msi and hit run. Then I get to first screen where u select language. I hit start button, then I get message, the installation package could not be opened. Verify that the package exists and that you can access it. or contact the application vendor to verify that this is a valid Windows Installer package.