PDA

View Full Version : Error Opening DB

DwTexh
12-26-2008, 03:11 PM
I've been using HM for a month or two, never had a problem. Today I tried to open it and get an error:
"The following error occurred when trying to open the database. Failed to establish a connection to '127.0.0.1'

I click OK, then the database control panel opens. I click on connect and it says:
"A connection to PostgreSQL could not be made. Would you like to have Holdem Manager attempt to start the service?"

I click on Yes and it says "Holdem Manager has started the service. Please try again."

I click OK and the Connect and it says the connection could not be made.

I am dead in the water and very frustrated. Suggestions please?

DwTexh
12-26-2008, 03:56 PM
fyi - I'm on XP and the FAQ's that discuss this discuss going to Control Panel - Windows Firewall which I do not see. I am not good with PC's and the 'step by step' to fix this does not seem to work for XP (but I could be wrong).

DwTexh
12-27-2008, 12:38 AM
No idea why, but a complete reboot of the PC appears to have fixed this. Very odd.

Al1
12-27-2008, 08:05 AM
No idea why, but a complete reboot of the PC appears to have fixed this. Very odd.

Hi,

It's perhaps because the postgreSQL service has stopped to run.
If it happens in the futur, you can try to do that also: http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afmmain.aspx?faqid=34

DwTexh
12-27-2008, 10:40 AM
Sadly, although I do not get that error anymore, I am having other problems.

1 - when using Spadeye, it does not find 90% of my opponents anymore
2 - when I try and look at my stats for yesterday I get an error that says:
"Unhandled exception has occurred in your application. If you click Continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue. If you click Quit, the application will close immediately.

Input string was not in a correct format."

So if I click continue it gets hung up and obviously quit closes the application.