PDA

View Full Version : Can not install HEM - PostgreSQL Problems

AgileBeauce
02-16-2011, 11:06 AM
I am trying to install HEM for the first time. I have heard so many good things about the product that I decided to finally go ahead and buy a copy. I downloaded the "Try for free" which I am assuming is the full version with a 14 day "use" period. Problem is, I can't get it to install.

I have gone through the list of what to do for installing HEM when you have PostgreSQL problems. I have deleted files, disabled firewalls (reluctantly - but I will not uninstall my anti-virus software just to install your program), added programs to the exceptions, edited files, etc. etc. etc., not to mention the 750 reboots to my computer (okay, so that might be just a bit of an exaggeration). I have been trying for a couple of days to get this thing to install with NO LUCK!!!

I have been a computer programmer for about 25 years (not current past 5 years), so I am not what you would call computer illiterate. I have gotten PostgreSQL to install and start (I have Apache Server so I can see the service is started.) I can also stop and restart PostgreSQL through Apache Services. I have also been able to install HEM, without PostgreSQL. But when I try and install the combo, it can't start the database. I also can not start the database through Apache Services after the HEM install until after I do a reboot. It always times out. After I reboot, I can start PostgreSQL, but because the HEM installation never finished, when I run HEM, it can't find the Holdem database. That's because the installation never got that far because it couldn't start PostgreSQL during the installation, so it never created the database. If I try to reinstall HEM, it recognizes that PostgreSQL is installed and running, so it won't install it again, and doesn't create the Holdem database.