PDA

View Full Version : Can't Open HEM

bent_zen
09-08-2013, 08:56 PM
Hi
I can't open HEM. When I try to open it I get this message:

The application failed to initialize properly (**********). Click on OK to terminate the application.

I tried turning off my security firewall, and then opening, with no luck. I then redownloaded my previous patch (_17July2013), again no luck. I then looked in the forum, and found a newer patch _05Aug2013, and downloaded it. No luck. I've also tried rebooting, with no luck.

My apologies in advance if this is some simple computer problem that I should be able to solve. I'm by no means a computer expert.

Thank You

Edit: Version 1.13.01 Internal (I think the number is right, but can't be sure because I can't open Hem)

netsrak
09-09-2013, 04:15 AM
And it was working before?
What happened to your computer before HM broke? Did you install any other programs or windows updates? Did you experience a crash?

bent_zen
09-09-2013, 04:00 PM
I was halfway through writing this response, when I thought I'd try opening HEM, and it opened fine. I just played a few sample hands and it seems OK, but your reply has me thinking that maybe this was a symptom of something else. Here is the reply I was writing:

Now that you mention it, HEM did crash, I think probably the last time I used it. I was playing a tournament on Stars at the time. I didn't do anything about it because I got knocked out of the tourney and quit playing at about the same time and didn't think anything of it.