PDA

View Full Version : Playing poker in 2 citys

martin dtc
09-04-2010, 07:11 AM
Hello
I am a student and play poker on a PC in two different cities.
At this moment i have to zip the wordpad hand histories each time I played and send them to the other PC and import them there. I also have to do the mass imports twice. This can be time costing and annoying.

Thats why I got the following plan:
I bought a 300GB extern hard drive, which on both PC's is known as F:\. Is it possible to start a new database from this F drive. So everytime I plug in the extern hard drive (in city 1 or 2) in my PC it will load the Database from the F:\ destination. This way I dont have to import everything twice. When it comes to marking and replaying hands its also a big pre if I have one database.

If there are other suggestions for playing 2 PC's (200 miles away) with 1 database I would be happy to hear it.

PS: I used both my HEM activation codes for both the PC's. If I have to reinstall HEM on the F:\ will this be possible?

netsrak
09-04-2010, 09:38 AM
You don't have to install HEM on F:.
Its just postgresql which needs the database on F:. In general it is possible to install postgresql and the database on an external HDD and access it from 2 computers. But it is very unreliable and you need to be extremly carefull when you connect / disconnect the HDD to the computers and you should have a good computer knowledge.

Here is the FAQ for it: FAQ - Hold'em Manager Poker Tracking Software :: How do I setup Holdem Manager to share one database between two computers? (http://faq.holdemmanager.com/questions/336/How+do+I+setup+Holdem+Manager+to+share+one+databas e+between+two+computers%3F)

For sharing one database over the internet read this FAQ: http://faq.holdemmanager.com/questions/90/Run+PostgreSQL+Over+a+Network+

martin dtc
09-04-2010, 11:31 AM
Where can I find options with the saving of databases..