PDA

View Full Version : External Hard Drive Broke - How bad is it??

DRUK88
08-08-2012, 09:13 AM
Hi,

A few months ago I bought an External Hard Drive (1tb). The C Drive on my laptop was getting full and I could free space by putting all my documents and also my Database on the external. However, as of last night it is completely broke and I need to get it replaced.

I'm not entirely sure whether all is lost, but because I'm a bit of a noob with databases I need some help.

I have HEM installed on my laptop.
I have HMArchive on my laptop (and there is content - 2012 -> 04 to 07 -> each folder has random numbered files -> folders have HH.txt files)
I have PostgreSQL on my laptop EXCEPT for "data" folder (C/Program Files/PostgreSQL/8.4/data). This folder is empty except a notepad file explaining that this folder is located on the external HDD.

If you need more information, please ask.

I am hoping that I can just replace the external HDD and reimport the HMArchive files or something? If not I can pay for the data to be retrieved from the broken HDD, I just don't know if this is necessary as it isn't cheap.

Thanks in advance - again if anything is confusing or need more information, feel free.

Patvs
08-09-2012, 01:49 AM
Did you play poker before april 2012?
The archive folder on your C:/ laptop has all the original handhistories from april to july 2012.
So if those are ALL your hands, you can just import them into a new database, (and not worry about the lost PostgreSQL /DATA folder)

Also if you played on PokerStars, you can email their support and request the handhistories for EVERY hand you've ever played.

What you will lose, by losing access to the /DATA folder, is your NOTES: if you used HoldemManager for notes: those were stored in the database.

DRUK88
08-09-2012, 06:06 AM
Did you play poker before april 2012?
The archive folder on your C:/ laptop has all the original handhistories from april to july 2012.