PDA

View Full Version : I'm not heavy...I'm your brother

EagleClaw29
01-31-2010, 04:22 AM
Hi Folks - the reason for the title is that I need some help & I'm relatively new to computers & I hope you'll bear with me & help with my questions even though to many Hold-em Manager users they may seem amateurish.

I used to live on the West Coast & played all live poker. I moved to GA a few years back & there are no poker rooms so I started playing on the net & that was the 1st time I used a computer.

I'm much better with them now - but still light years away I'm sure from many of you folks....OK, enough about that.

As I said...this is going to be a long post...but I hope some folks have the time to look it over & help me out....for those who don't...I certainly understand.

When I look at poker forums such as 2+2 they are always flinging these numbers around about other players HUD stats as if they were of great importance....& lets them know exactly what type of player it is.

My 1st question is how many hands do you need to see an opponent play to put any importance to the stats?

I think I have the default stats in my HUD right now....but I'm not sure. This is how mine is set up. And I'm just plugging in some #'s out of the blue to fill it out.

23/12/15/2.6 This is the top line and in order the #'s are for VPIP/Preflop Raise/Steal/3-Bet.

2.5/50/67/99 This is the bottom line & in order they are for Aggression Factor - Flop Continuation Bet - Fold to Flop Continuation Bets - Hands Played.

Which of these numbers have the most significance? I think that the VPIP may be the most important & I know it means the money the player has voluntarily put in the pot.

Which of the others are the most relevant & is there like a combo of three that will give you the best handle of what you are up against?

Which stats do you folks use for your HUD's? Does anybody feel the main ones can be listed in order of significance for like the top 5 and what would they be?