PDA

View Full Version : HM makes computer freeze on Vista 64

IoDa
09-26-2009, 07:37 AM
Hello,

I've been using PT3 for several months and decided to move to HM because my db was getting too big and PT3 was getting too slow.

I've bought the SS version of HM, installed it, imported my old hand history, configured the HUD, everything was working perfectly.

When I finally started playing using HM, still everything was perfect. Importing the hands correctly, the HUD was working well on Full Tilt's tables and everything looked fine. After a few minutes that I was playing (6-tabling) my computer froze. No mouse move, no response to any command, the only solution was the reset button. I tried again a few times and the problem continued.

I disabled UAC, I'm running HM as administrator, I've tried reinstalling the .NET Framework, and tried all tips I could find on this forum and on HM's FAQ. It is still freezing my computer completly after a few minutes playing...

I'm running it on a Core 4 with 4 Gb of RAM and I'm using Windows Vista 64-bit.

Any idea of what could it be?

Thanks in advance.

IoDa

EDIT: Im running the latest beta version of HM.

fozzy71
09-26-2009, 09:23 AM
What anti-virus and other security software are you using?

make sure HMHUD is also set to run as admin.

Under Vista and Windows 7 make sure UAC is disabled http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afmmain.aspx?faqid=73 and/or holdemmanager.exe and hmhud.exe are started as administrator. Run the windows explorer and navigate to your Holdemmanager installation directory. Right click the holdemmanager.exe and the hmhud.exe executable and select "Run as admin" from the popup menu.

Add exceptions to the windows firewall, even if it is off. If you have a 3rd party firewall, do the equivalent or uninstall it temporarily - http://www.holdemmanager.net/faq/afmviewfaq.aspx?faqid=171

Take a screen shot or 2 of the Task Manager > Processes before it crashes, so we can see if HM or HMHUD are hogging CPU.